Photography Contest

2021 Sony World Photography Awards

2021 Sony World Photography Awards

Deadline |


Theme |

10 categories to enter, including the new Portfolio category for 2021 competition

Territory |


Eligibility |

The Professional Competition is open to all Photographers entering a body of work. All entrants must be over 18.

Entry Fees |


Prizes |

Cash Prize
The Professional competition rewards and showcases the worlds most outstanding bodies of work. Judges are looking for series that are technically brilliant, exciting and offer a fresh perspective on what contemporary photography can do. They want to uncover work that would otherwise be unseen, and share it with a worldwide audience. The Awards can open doors to publishing deals, gallery representation and worldwide exhibitions. The Professional competition offers established photographers a global platform to share and gain recognition for their personal projects. Artists can enter multiple series of works to the following categories: Architecture & Design, Creative, Documentary Projects, Environment, Landscape, Natural World & Wildlife, Portraiture, Still Life, Sport, and Portfolio. New for this years Professional competition is the Portfolio category. Photographers can enter five to 10 images taken in the past year that encapsulate their photographic practice. Images do not need to be related to each other in terms of narrative, subject matter or style. Here the judges will be looking at the quality and technical skills evident throughout the group of images. The Architecture category has been expanded for this year, asking entrants to also submit their best design related photographs.

Photo Pablo Albarenga, Uruguay, Photographer of the Year, Professional, Creative, 2020 Sony World Photography Awards